In Vedic astrology, the zodiac is divided into 27 nakshatras. Each nakshatra has a length of 360º/27 = 13º 20'. The first nakshatra, for example, stretches from the beginning of Aries to 13º 20' in Aries. The second nakshatra stretches from there to 26º 40' in Aries. The third nakshatra stretches from there to 10º in Taurus. The list of nakshatras with the respective starting and ending points is given in below table. The table also gives the “Vimsottari lords” of all nakshatras. This will be used later.
Each nakshatra is again divided into 4 quarters. They are called padas (legs/feet). The length of a nakshatra pada is 3º 20'.

Nakshatras (constellations) in Vedic Astrology

For the purpose of some special charts like Kota Chakra and Sarvatobhadra Chakra, we consider 28 nakshatras. The last quarter of Uttarashadha is known as “Abhijit”. However, we consider 27 nakshatras for all other purposes.

Aswini-—-polite, sweet speech, fond of jewels, good dress, handsome, popular, intelligent, expert in arts and sciences.

Bharani——-truthful, persevering (continuing in a course of action despite difficulty or delay in achieving success), healthy, skillful, free from cares, happy.

Krittika—voracious eater, fond of others wives, handsome, famous.

Rohini—truthful, man of principles, polite, steady, handsome.

Mrugasira—-capricious, skillful, cowardly, talkative, light-hearted, rich, fond of enjoyment.

Auridra— dissimulator (a person who professes beliefs and opinions that he or she does not hold in order to conceal his or her real feelings or motives), proud, ungrateful, cruel-hearted, sinful and fond of killing.

Punarvasu——fond of doing penance (tapasya), happy, good tempered, little cracked, sickly, thirsty, contented with small gains.

Pushiami—very quiet, popular, learned, wealthy and fond of good deeds.

Auslasha-pretender, cheating partners, sinful, ungrateful and clever in swindling (cheating) others.

Makha—enjoyment in life, many servants, great wealth, religious, respectful, highly contented.

Poobba—good speech, liberal, handsome, traveller, submissive.

Uttara—-popular, learned, enjoyable life, free from cares.

Hasta-—hopeful, steady, given to strong liquors, unkind, pilferer (thief without using violence).

Chitta—charming eyes,fond of various colored clothes.

Swathi—polite, moral, merchant, kind-hearted, sweet words, fond of doing meritorious (deserving reward or praise) deeds.

Visakha—narrow minded. jealous, miser, good looking, clever in the art of speech, fond of picking quarrels.

Anooradha-—wealthy, residence in a foreign country, not capable of enduring hunger, roving (travel constantly without a fixed destination) habits.

Jaista—jolly, few friends, charitable, unreasonably angry.

Moola—conceited (abhimaanee), wealthy, happy, kind-hearted, resolute (firm, strong), enjoyment in life.

Poorvashadha—good and agreeable wife, conceited, constant in friendship.

Uttarashadha—polite, charitable, grateful, popular, many friends.

Sravana—rich, learned, good and chaste wife, enjoyable life, famous.

Dhanista—wealthy, liberal, courageous, fond of music, avaricious (greedy).

Sattabhisha-—eloquent and distinct speaker, gambler, fond of bad women, murderer of enemies, adventurous, deep-hearted.

Poorvabhadra—sorrowfnl, submissive to Women, wealthy, clever, miserly.

Uttarabhadra-—-eloquent speaker, happy, blesscd with children and grand children, unrivalled (matchless, unique), charitable.

Raivathi—well developed body, popular, warrior, man of strict moral principles, wealthy.

  • basics/nakshatras-intro.txt
  • Last modified: 2019/11/09 07:42
  • by admin